Stillness is a Stretch for Some of us

Here we go, readying for another Christmas season. It’s exciting. It’s fun. It can be exhausting. But it’s worth it. I just plan to keep the whole thing in proportion this year. Maybe look at it as an endurance event and try to keep my pace even the whole way.

The challenge for me is the temptation to get caught up the current. I start out well and then somehow I find myself in the fast lane. Reminds me of the time I showed up so late for the start of my 5K race that I took off with the lead pack. They were actually racing the thing. I literally had to run for my life. This only lasted about 100 meters because I was overcome by the sharp jab of a side stitch and tripped up by the shoelace I hadn’t had time to secure.

I guess taking just a little time to prepare and then finding your proper place in the pace is really quite a healthy thing. It doesn’t take long. Just requires you show up with a few minutes to spare.

So, in my few minutes to spare during this season, I’m going to put myself in my proper posture with this stretch and its prayer.

I think it may make the season brighter. I know it will make me more flexible. And that may be the key to sustaining myself in the race all the way to the finish line which, of course, is Christmas Day.

About wlebolt

Life comes at you fast. I like to catch it and toss it back. Or toss it up to see where it lands. I do my best thinking when I'm moving. And my best writing when I am tapping my foot to a beat no one else hears. Kinesthetic to the core.

Posted on December 3, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mary Anne Noland

    There is a yoga video available at Augsberg Press called Stretch and Pray. I actually have it.

    • The idea of stretching and praying is certainly not a new one, for sure. It’s the notion that a brief fitness activity can be a faith moment when you “don’t have time for both” that has been valuable to me. Multi-tasking at my best 🙂

      This video was actually made to support an article I have that will be coming out in the May/June issue of Devozine magazine. The article is called “Taking Care of Me,” and addresses the issue of making peace with our body in order to love it the way God does and care for it the way He wants us to – with His help.

  2. this is sooooo fantastic!! I can’t wait to share it with everyone . You are embodying FABULOUS!Thank you Thank you thank you!

  1. Pingback: How heavy is my daily bread? | The Kinesthetic Christian

  2. Pingback: How Heavy is My Daily Bread? | Today I Saw God

Please join the conversation.